We’re excited for Jeremy “JBC” Kennedy: the 24-year-old undefeated Canadian featherweight fights Kyle Bochniak in his third ever UFC appearance in New York on July 22, 2017. While shooting his story It’s All in Me, we sat down with Kennedy for a True Calling lightning round, each question of which was swiftly answered with a gentle certainty. Watch his story below, and get to know more about Kennedy and how he breaks diet, his competitive edge, and what keeps him up at night.

What do you do?

I’m an MMA fighter in the UFC.

What breakfast kickstarts your day?

Oatmeal with a coffee.

What is your favourite thing to wear to work?

Training clothes. Compression shorts, a slim-fit jersey, and a mouthguard.

How do you describe your work culture?


What keeps you up at night?

If I did enough and if I was strict enough on my diet. It’s such a disciplined sport that I have a lot of guilt.

What would your 16-year-old self think of you now?

I had my first fight at 16, so to fast forward all these years and to finally make it to where I set out to go—it’s just the beginning, but he’d be proud of where I’m at now.

What was your point of no return?

When I turned pro and I quit my job. I knew, “I’m all in now.”

What is perfect in your life?

Nothing’s perfect. But where I’m at right now and the direction I’m going, I’m pretty happy with.

If you weren’t doing this, what job would you most likely have?

I would probably be a plumber.

When are you happiest?

Right after my training session is done, the endorphins are going, you feel pretty good, you know you’ve put your work in.

When and where were you most miserable?

I had about a year and a half lay-off due to injury. I had already committed a couple of years to pro MMA and I quit my job then I couldn’t do what I loved to do. That was a tough time.

What are you like when you are stressed out?

Fidgety, edgy.

Next to work and sleep, what is the thing you spend the most time doing?

I spend a lot of time with my dog, Joe.

What skill would you most like to have?

To be able to let go of things I can’t control.

What is your daily practice?

I train, rest, and repeat.

What is your vice?

Chewing tobacco.

What was your first job and how did you get it?

I started with carpentry apprentice, and that got me into labouring. My dad is a plumber so started apprenticing with him and I loved that.

Have you ever been fired?


What brings you comfort?


How would you like to die?

Old, with a lot of family around.

What is your favourite thing to do on the weekend?

My cheat meal on Saturday nights. I get to break diet.

What’s in your cheat meal?

Something that I’ve been craving all week, it changes all the time. But usually either pizza or a burger and fries.

What kind of work/life balance do you have right now?

About 50/50.

What is your greatest indulgence?

When I travel, I’ll splurge and make sure I enjoy the experience.

What is the one thing you have learned about pain?

That it’s more common than not.

What do you love most about yourself?

My competitive edge and how much I invest in things.

What is your favourite swear word?


What kind of friends do you keep?

Like-minded people.

What is your favourite book?

I do not read.

What is your after-work drink?

A protein shake.

What is your favourite quote?

“When, not if.”

What are you least proud of?

I wish I had invested a little bit more in school work. I wish could have known what life was going to be like, 10 years later.

What are you most proud of?

Where I’ve gotten myself today.

Do you love what you do?

I absolutely love what I do, yes.


By Ianne Sy

Share This